
2014 Renewal of an Iowa Podiatry License 
Continuing education requirements must be completed prior to license renewal 

 

License Number  

Last Name, First Name  

Address  

City, State, Zip Code  

E-mail address  

Phone 1  

Phone 2  

*SSN  

Privacy Act Notice: Disclosure of your Social Security Number on this renewal application is required by 42 U.S.C. § 

666(a)(13) and Iowa Code §  252J.8(1).  The number will be used in connection with the collection of child support obligations and 

as an internal means to accurately identify licensees, and may be shared with taxing authorities as allowed by law including Iowa 

Code § 421.18. 
  

Step Two - What is the renewal fee and when is it due? 

The renewal fee is $400. Check or money order must be payable to the Iowa Board of Podiatry.  

 You are responsible for submitting a completed, accurate renewal application and renewal fee before the license expiration date of June 30. The 

board office strongly suggests the application and fee be postmarked on or before June 1.  

 Your renewal must include: (1) the completed renewal application (this form), and (2) the renewal fee. 

Note: You are no longer required to report detailed course information or mail copies of continuing education certificates for renewal. If you are 

selected for the audit, you will be required to submit continuing education information as instructed.  For auditing purposes, licensees must retain the 

information for two years after the biennium has ended. Do Not Submit Continuing Education Certificates. 
 

When is the late fee due? 

 To avoid the late fee, this completed application must be postmarked by the license expiration date of June 30. 

 The most recent postmark will determine whether the renewal application is late.  This is true even if the application was initially postmarked 

prior to the license expiration date. 

 A $60 late fee plus the $400 renewal fee are required on all applications postmarked in the grace period. “Grace period” means the 30-day 

period following expiration of a license when the license is still considered to be active; July 1 through July 30.  In order to renew a license 

during the grace period, a licensee is required to pay the $60.00 late fee. 

 Renewal applications postmarked after the “Grace period” will not be processed.  The license will automatically be placed on inactive status.   
 

Inactive License 

 A licensee who fails to renew the license by the end of the “Grace period” has an inactive license.  A licensee whose license is inactive 

continues to hold the privilege of licensure in Iowa, but may not practice as a podiatrist in Iowa until the license is reactivated. 

 Reactivation must be completed and approved to regain active license status: https://ibplicense.iowa.gov 

 

Processing 

 Allow four weeks to process the paper renewal.  Once approved, a new wallet card will be sent to you.    

 To receive a paper copy of the current Iowa Law and Administrative Rules include an additional $5.00. To view the current Iowa Law and 

Administrative Rules online, go to www.idph.state.ia.us/licensure/Podiatry.aspx?pg=Laws 

 

Step Three - The following six questions must be answered. 
If you answer “Yes” to any question below, (1) attach a signed letter of explanation providing the details of the incident, (2) attach a copy of any 

court ordered evaluations, showing completion and recommendations, and (3) attach a copy of all official court documents regarding your 

conviction/malpractice suit, including final disposition and/or settlement.  You must answer “Yes” even when a conviction or judgment has been 

deferred or expunged from your record.  SINCE 07/01/2012 HAVE YOU: 
 

Yes No Been convicted, found guilty of, or entered a plea of guilty or no contest to a felony or misdemeanor crime (other than minor 

traffic violations with fines under $500)? 

Yes No Had any judgments or settlements paid on your behalf as a result of a malpractice suit or claim filed against you? 

Yes No Been investigated by a licensing, registration, or certification authority or organization? If the investigation or action was 

instituted by this licensing board you may answer “NO” to this question. 

Yes No Been disciplined or sanctioned by any other licensing, registration, or certification authority or organization related to your 

professional practice? If this licensing board took the disciplinary action, you may answer “NO” to this question. 

Yes No Developed a medical condition which in any way impairs or limits your ability to practice your profession with reasonable 

skill and safety? (If you are currently a participant in the Impaired Practitioner Review Committee, you may answer "NO" to 

this question.) 

Yes No Been engaged in illegal or improper use of drugs or other chemical mood altering substances? (If you are currently a 

participant in the Impaired Practitioner Review Committee, you may answer "NO" to this question.) 

 

Continue on side two 



2014 Renewal of an Iowa Podiatry License 
Continuing education requirements must be completed prior to license renewal 

 

Step Four – Mandatory Reporter Training Requirements.  

 For a list of approved curricula go to: www.idph.state.ia.us/bh/abuse_ed_review.asp 

 You will not be permitted to renew your license unless you meet one of the conditions listed below. Check the response that 

applies to you.  

 

Licensees, who in the scope of their professional practice, examine, attend, counsel, or treat dependent adults or children in Iowa are 

required to complete training in dependent adult and/or child abuse identification and reporting during the previous five years.  You 

will not be permitted to renew your license unless you meet one of the requirements listed below.  Check the correct answer below: 
 

  I do not examine, attend, counsel, or treat dependent adults or children in Iowa. 

  
I examine, attend, counsel or treat dependent adults and/or children in Iowa and have competed the required training within 

the last five years. 

  
I am exempt from the requirements for mandatory training for identifying and reporting dependent adult and/or child abuse 

because I was on active duty in the military during this biennium. 

  

I am exempt from the requirements for mandatory training for identifying and reporting dependent adult and/or child abuse 

due to a physical or mental disability or illness. My doctor and I have completed the ‘Application for Continuing Education 

Extension/Exemption for Disability or Illness. The application has been mailed to the board office and has been approved by 

the Board. 
 

Step Five – Continuing Education.  

 To review the continuing education rules, go to www.idph.state.ia.us/licensure/Podiatry.aspx?pg=Laws 

 Continuing education requirements must be completed prior to renewing the license. 

 You must check the one statement below that applies to you.  

  This is my first renewal after initial licensure, continuing education isn’t required.  

  
I have completed the required 40 hours of continuing education, earned 07/01/2012 through 06/30/2014.  Note: If you are 

reporting continuing education for the first time, you may report hours earned from the date of your initial licensure.  

  

I am exempt from the continuing education requirements because I am licensed and reside in another state or district having 

continuing education requirements for my profession.  I have met all continuing education requirements of that state or district 

for practice.  

  

I have been granted an extension of time to fulfill the continuing education requirements or I have been granted an exemption 

by the board (due to a physical or mental disability or illness). My doctor and I have completed the ‘Application for 

Continuing Education Extension/Exemption for Disability or Illness. The application has been mailed to the board office and 

has been approved by the Board. I have or am in the process of completing the requirements of my exemption.   

  
I am exempt from the continuing education requirements because I was on active military duty during all or part of this 

continuing education biennium; 07/01/2012 through 06/30/2014.  
 

Step Six - Please Read and Sign. 

 

 I certify that I have carefully read the questions on this application and have answered them completely and truthfully. I 

declare under penalty of perjury that my answers, and all other statements or information submitted by me in this application process, 

are true and correct. If it is determined at any time that I have provided misleading or false information on or in support of this 

application, I understand that my license may be subject to disciplinary action and criminal prosecution.  

 

 I also understand that this application is a public record in accordance with Iowa Code chapter 22 and that application 

information is public information, subject to the exceptions contained in Iowa law. Finally, in submitting this application, I consent to 

any reasonable inquiry, including a continuing education audit that may be necessary to verify the information I have provided on, or 

in conjunction with, this application.  

 

Privacy Act Notice:  Disclosure of your Social Security Number on this renewal application is required by 42 U.S.C. § 666(a)(13) 

and Iowa Code §  252J.8(1).  The number will be used in connection with the collection of child support obligations and as an internal 

means to accurately identify licensees, and may be shared with taxing authorities as allowed by law including Iowa Code § 421.18 

 

 

Licensee sign here         Date 


