County Public
Health Contacts
Find Us on Facebook

Follow IDPH on Twitter

IDPH News  Content available as RSS

Posted: Wed, 12 Jun 2013 13:42 CDT
Category: Behavioral Health

National HIV/AIDS Leadership Award to IDPH’s Mayer

Iowa Department of Public Health (IDPH) HIV, STD and Hepatitis Bureau Chief Randy Mayer is a recipient of the 2013 Nicholas A. Rango Leadership Award. The award from the National Alliance of State and Territorial AIDS Directors (NASTAD) was presented at its national meeting in Washington, DC last month.

“Randy is thorough, thoughtful and science-based in approach,” said NASTAD Executive Director Julie Scofield. “He always takes the time to ask questions in order to understand the issues, regardless of whether they apply to his home state or not. His dedication, tirelessness and impatience in leading the struggle against HIV/AIDS helps make sure all our programs have the support they need to get the job done.” Mayer is the outgoing chair of NASTAD.

The Nicholas A. Rango award is named for one of NASTAD’s founding members, who was director of the New York State AIDS Institute before his death of AIDS in 1993. NASTAD gives the award to recognize the state AIDS director, state and territorial health department staff member, or NASTAD staff member who best exemplifies Dr. Rango’s qualities of superior intelligence, dedication, and leadership in the fight against HIV/AIDS and/or viral hepatitis.

Mayer was co-recipient of this year’s Rango Award; Ann Robbins of the Texas Department of Health Services was also honored. For more information, click here. To learn more about the IDPH HIV, STD and Hepatitis programs, click here.

Contact Information: Polly Carver-Kimm at (515) 281-6693

For More Information:

  • Use the "Contact Us" page to submit questions or comments online.

Click here to return to the IDPH News Archive