Summary of changes are as follows:
Beginning January 1, 2009, hours obtained through independent study are limited to 12 hours. 12 hours of the 24 hours of continuing education required for renewal must be earned by completing a program in which an instructor conducts the class employing either in-person or live, real-time interactive media.
Effective July 1, 2007, all applicants for licensure are required to complete a college course of at least one semester hour or equivalent in current Iowa law and rules covering mortuary science, cremation, vital statistics, cemeteries and preneed. Contact a mortuary science college program for availability of course.
If selected for a continuing education audit, you will be required to provide the following information to the board: Individual certificates of completion issued to you or evidence of successful completion of each program/course from the course sponsor. These documents must contain the course title, date(s), contact hours, sponsor, and your name. It is your responsibility to retain this documentation for two years after each licensure period.
Barb Huey, Bureau Chief | Lucas State Office Building | 321 E. 12th Street, Des Moines, IA 50319 | (515) 281-0254
IDPH Home :: A-Z Index :: What We Do :: News Archive :: Calendar :: Definitions
Contact Us :: Site Map :: State of Iowa
© Copyright 2013 Iowa Department of Public Health -- All Rights Reserved
321 E. 12th Street, Des Moines, Iowa, 50319-0075 :: (515) 281-7689 or toll-free at 1-866-227-9878
Comments or questions about this site should be directed to the webmaster